Over 35,000 roses … Thank you!

Published on 10 December 2021 - 10:32

In Lourdes, on Wednesday 8th December 2021, we celebrated the solemnity of the Immaculate Conception. Despite the bad weather, there were many pilgrims gathered around Mgr. Celestino Migliore, Apostolic Nuncio in France who, at the invitation of Mgr. Antoine Hérouard, Apostolic Delegate for the Sanctuaries, presided over the Solemn Mass in the Basilica of Saint Pius X.

At the end of Mass, a procession of pilgrims preceded by all the priests and bishops headed for the Grotto of Massabielle to recite the Angelus followed by the floral tribute which, in Lourdes, has become a beautiful tradition.

Coinciding with the Feast of the Immaculate Conception, we reached a record number of online pilgrims: there are currently more than 1,000,000 subscribers to our Facebook page.
The sanctuary was able to thank all the pilgrims who are directly connected with the Grotto and the Sanctuary through social networks. The sign, which was presented to the Grotto after the floral tribute, was blessed by Don Julien so that the blessing would reach all the pilgrims who follow us online.

Brothers and sisters, there are many of us here today, but there are more than a million of you following the life of the Sanctuary on social media, all over the world.

And so, the number of people listening to the word of God, meditating on the Rosary, and joining in prayer with Our Lady of Lourdes is constantly expanding right across the world. Today we are placing, in front of the Immaculate Virgin, the intentions of all those who cannot physically come on pilgrimage to the Grotto of Massabielle. Those that have been sent to us through social media networks and all those that are carried in our private prayers.” Mgr. Olivier Ribadeau Dumas, Rector of the Sanctuary of Our Lady of Lourdes.

 

On 8th December, live from the Grotto of the Apparitions, the Sanctuary was able to thank all the pilgrims who are connected to the Sanctuary through social media networks, The sign that was presented to the Grotto after the floral tribute and the address of the Rector of the Sanctuary (above), was then blessed by Don Julian, so that the blessing would reach all pilgrims wherever they were.
Again a huge thank you to you.

© Photo SNDL / Pierre Vincent “1,000,000 subscribers” sign held by the Sanctuary Communication team, Sister Sylvie Lacalmontie, creator of the Facebook page and Don Julien, “chapelain” at the Sanctuary, in front of the Grotto of the Apparitions

Floral tribute in Lourdes and… in Rome!

Like Pope Francis who had paid homage to the Immaculate Conception very early in the morning, we were able to place a bouquet of flowers at the feet of the Immaculate Conception, in the Spanish Steps in Rome. We were present there in the person of Padre Giacomo, Rector of the Basilica delle Fratte (“the Roman Lourdes”) who placed a bouquet of 100 roses at the foot of the statue of the Immaculate Conception while singing the Ave Maria of Lourdes.

The Marian torchlight procession

Due to the weather conditions, the Marian torchlight procession took place at 8:30 pm in the Basilica of Saint Pius X. Protected from the rain, the pilgrims were able to raise their torches, sing and pray to the Virgin Mary in her Immaculate Conception.

Plus de 35 000 roses… Merci !

Publié le 10 décembre 2021 - 10:32

Mercredi 8 décembre 2021 nous avons fêté à Lourdes la solennité de l’Immaculé Conception. Malgré le mauvais temps, les pèlerins étaient nombreux pour entourer Mgr Celestino Migliore, Nonce Apostolique en France, qui a l’invitation de Mgr Antoine Hérouard, Délégué Apostolique pour le Sanctuaire, présidait la Messe solennelle dans la basilique de Saint Pie X.

A la fin de la Messe, un cortège de pèlerins précédé par tous les prêtres et évêques se sont dirigés vers la Grotte de Massabielle pour réciter l’Angélus suivi de l’hommage floral qui, à Lourdes, devient une belle tradition.

Coïncidant avec la fête de l’Immaculée, nous avons atteint un record de pèlerins connectés : vous êtes actuellement plus de 1 000 000 d’abonnés à suivre la page Facebook.
Le Sanctuaire a pu remercier tous les pèlerins qui, à travers les réseaux sociaux, sont connectés en direct avec la Grotte et le Sanctuaire. La pancarte, qui a été présentée à la Grotte après l’offrande florale, a été bénie par Don Julien pour que la bénédiction arrive à tous les pèlerins qui, à distance, nous suivent.

« Frères et sœurs, si nous sommes nombreux aujourd’hui, vous êtes plus d’un million d’abonnés à suivre la vie du Sanctuaire sur les réseaux sociaux, partout à travers le monde.
Ainsi, l’écoute de la parole de Dieu, la méditation du chapelet et la communion de prière auprès de Notre-Dame de Lourdes s’élargissent sans cesse et partout dans le monde. Aujourd’hui, nous déposons auprès de la Vierge Immaculée les intentions de tous ceux qui ne peuvent pas venir physiquement en pèlerinage à la Grotte de Massabielle.Celles qui nous ont été transmises par les réseaux sociaux et toutes celles que chacun porte dans sa prière personnelle. » Mgr Olivier Ribadeau Dumas, Recteur du Sanctuaire Notre-Dame de Lourdes

Le 8 décembre, le Sanctuaire a pu remercier en direct de la Grotte des Apparitions, tous les pèlerins qui à travers les réseaux sociaux sont connectés au Sanctuaire. La pancarte qui a été présentée à la Grotte après l’offrande florale et le discours du recteur du Sanctuaire (ci-dessus), a été ensuite bénie par Don Julien, pour que la bénédiction arrive à tous les pèlerins où qu’ils soient.
Encore un immense merci à vous.

© Photo SNDL / Pierre Vincent : pancarte « 1 000 000 d’abonnés » tenue par l’équipe Communication du Sanctuaire, Soeur Sylvie Lacalmontie, créatrice de la page Facebook et Don Julien, chapelain au Sanctuaire, devant la Grotte des Apparitions.

Hommage floral à Lourdes et… à Rome !

 Comme le Pape François qui avait rendu hommage à l’Immaculée Conception très tôt le matin, nous avons pu déposer un bouquet de fleurs, aux pieds de l’Immaculée, dans la place d’Espagne de Rome. Nous y étions présents dans la personne du Padre Giacomo, Recteur de la Basilique Sant’Andrea delle Fratte (« la Lourdes romaine ») qui a déposé au pied de la statue de l’Immaculée un bouquet de 100 roses en chantant l’Ave Maria de Lourdes.

La procession mariale aux flambeaux

En raison des conditions météorologiques, la procession mariale aux flambeaux a eu lieu à 20h30 à la basilique Saint-Pie X. Protégés de la pluie, les pèlerins ont pu lever les flambeaux, chanter et prier la Vierge Marie dans son Immaculée Conception.