Saint Joseph, Patron of Fathers of Families

Published on 18 March 2022 - 15:54

In the Middle Ages, Catholic countries honoured fathers on 19th March, the feast of Saint Joseph. St Joseph is the father of Jesus and he is considered the patron saint of fathers.

Gentle Saint Joseph, the foster father, the father who educates, remains a model for all the fathers in the world, both in terms of Jesus and of the Holy Family. Father’s Day is not an especially recent celebration. Some European countries, such as Spain, Italy, Portugal, have kept the custom of celebrating fathers on this date. Others, such as France, Canada, the United Kingdom, have on the other hand adopted the American tradition, which devotes the third Sunday of June to fathers.

Bernadette and Saint Joseph

In 1866, in the convent where Bernadette Soubirous had just taken the habit of the nuns of charity of Nevers, the young novice was found one day reciting the rosary, kneeling in front of a statue of Saint Joseph!
“You are distracted”, a sister said to her!
“The Blessed Virgin and Saint Joseph are in perfect agreement, and in heaven, there is no jealousy!” Bernadette answered.
François Soubirous, Bernadette’s father, died on 4th March 1871 and we know how important he was to his daughter. He was, Bernadette would say, “the one I held dearest in the world”. It was then that Bernadette realised that Saint Joseph had somehow become her spiritual father. She confided this in the August of 1872. She was in the infirmary and she said to those present:
“Be good, I’m going to pay a visit to my father…”
“Your father?”
“So you don’t know that my father is now Joseph?”
From then on, Bernadette used to say, “Joseph is my father and the patron of a good death”. She found in Joseph her Earthly father who was no longer with her. And she said that this father appeared to her at one point in her life, “now and until the hour of my death.”

Today we still have good reason to commend everyone to St. Joseph”, wrote John Paul II in 1989 in the apostolic letter Redemptoris custos about this great saint. The solemnity of the spouse of the Virgin Mary and foster father of Jesus, on 19th March, is a splendid occasion to turn our attention to Joseph the just.

Prayer to St Joseph


Hail Joseph,
filled with divine grace,
in whose arms the Saviour was carried and under whose eyes He grew up:
blessed are you among men
and blessed is Jesus, the Son of your dear Spouse.
Holy Joseph, chosen to be a father to the Son of God,
pray for us in the midst of our cares of family, health, and work,
and be pleased to assist us at the hour of our death. 

Amen

The only word we definitely know that Joseph spoke is, “Jesus”. Because it was up to him to name the child. A single word, a single paternity. Gentle Saint Joseph, the foster father, the father who educates, remains a model for all the fathers in the world, both in terms of Jesus and of the Holy Family.

Saint Joseph, patron des pères de famille

Publié le 18 mars 2022 - 15:54

Au Moyen Âge, les pays catholiques honoraient les papas le 19 mars, jour de la Saint-Joseph. Ce dernier est le père de Jésus et il est considéré comme le patron des pères de famille.

Le doux saint Joseph, le père nourricier, le père éducateur, reste un modèle pour tous les pères de la terre, tant au niveau de Jésus que de la sainte Famille. La fête des pères n’est pas une célébration particulièrement récente. Certains pays européens – comme l’Espagne, l’Italie, le Portugal – ont gardé l’habitude de célébrer les pères à cette date. D’autres – tels que la France, le Canada, le Royaume-Uni – ont en revanche adopté la tradition venue des États-Unis, qui consacrent le troisième dimanche de juin aux papas.

Bernadette et saint Joseph

En 1866, dans le couvent où Bernadette Soubirous vient de prendre l’habit des religieuses de la charité de Nevers, on surprend un jour la jeune novice en train de réciter le chapelet, agenouillée devant une statue de Saint Joseph !
– Vous avez une distraction, lui dit une sœur !
– La Sainte Vierge et Saint Joseph sont parfaitement d’accord, et au ciel, il n’y a pas de jalousie ! répond Bernadette.
François Soubirous, le père de Bernadette, meurt le 4 mars 1871 et nous savons l’importance qu’il avait pour sa fille. Il était, dira Bernadette, « celui que j’avais de plus cher au monde ». C’est à ce moment que Bernadette réalise que Saint Joseph est en quelque sorte devenu son père spirituel. Elle en fera confidence au mois d’août 1872. Elle est à l’infirmerie et elle dit à celles qui se trouvent là :
– Soyez bien sages, je vais faire une visite à mon père…
– Votre père ?
– Vous ne savez donc pas que, maintenant, mon père, c’est Joseph ?
Désormais, dira Bernadette, « Joseph est mon père et le patron de la bonne mort ». Elle retrouve en Joseph son père de la Terre qui n’est plus avec elle. Et elle dit que ce père lui est apparu à un moment de sa propre vie, « maintenant et jusqu’à l’heure de la mort. »

« Aujourd’hui encore, nous avons des motifs permanents de recommander chaque personne à saint Joseph », écrivait Jean-Paul II en 1989 dans la lettre apostolique Redemptoris custos sur ce grand saint. La solennité de l’époux de la Vierge Marie et père nourricier de Jésus, le 19 mars, est une bonne occasion de tourner nos regards vers Joseph le juste.

Prière à St Joseph


« Je vous salue, Joseph,
Vous que la grâce divine a comblé.
Le sauveur a reposé entre vos bras et grandi sous vos yeux.
Vous êtes béni entre tous les hommes et Jésus,
l’enfant divin de votre virginale épouse est béni.
Saint Joseph, donné pour père au Fils de Dieu,
priez pour nous dans nos soucis de famille, de santé et de travail, jusqu’à nos derniers jours,
et daignez nous secourir à l’heure de notre mort.

Amen. »

L’unique parole dont on peut affirmer avec certitude que Joseph l’a prononcée, c’est : « Jésus ». Car c’était à lui que revenait la mission de nommer l’enfant. Une seule parole, une seule paternité. Le doux saint Joseph, le père nourricier, le père éducateur, reste un modèle pour tous les pères de la terre, tant au niveau de Jésus que de la sainte Famille.