Protection of minors and vulnerable people in the Sanctuary of Lourdes

The Sanctuary of Lourdes is an important pilgrimage site which welcomes in particular many young people, the sick and disabled, and the vulnerable. Always mindful of their needs and protection, the Sanctuary of Our Lady of Lourdes has put in place a code of good conduct and specially adapted procedures.

Protection of minors and vulnerable people in the Sanctuary of Lourdes

Do you need to report suspicious behaviour towards minors or vulnerable people?
Do you want to report a breach of moral standards?

Contact Father François BUSTILLO,
diocesan delegate for the protection of minors and vulnerable persons,
on +33 (0)7 57 41 18 63

and Father André CABES, Rector of the sanctuary,
on +33 (0)5 62 42 79 01

3 questions to Father François Bustillo, diocesan delegate (Tarbes and Lourdes) for the protection of minors and vulnerable people.

1- “The extremely serious sins of a few wound the entire body of the Church,” lamented Bishop Nicolas Brouwet, bishop of Tarbes and Lourdes, in his Lenten letter, of 6th March 2019. On 21st October 2018, he appointed you Diocesan Delegate for the Protection of Minors and Vulnerable Persons. Did your training prepare you for such a commitment? Can you tell us more about your mission and the composition of the commission that helps you?

I’ve been preparing for my mission ever since I was given it. The situation in the Church is of course serious and sad but we must react to it in an evangelical way. Some have done harm by ruining innocent lives, and I believe that we must build a Church where we return to the source, Christ. Our mission as Christians in the world is wonderful. These painful periods challenge us to draw strength from our faith. Without a solid inner life we cannot be credible signs in society.
My function is a new one in the Church, so I feel very open-minded about its evolving nature due in part to a better knowledge of the situation and also to the help of the team that supports me. In my mission I have to train members of the Church so that they are able to prevent and avoid inappropriate behaviour to ensure the safety of children and young people. I have to listen, I have to support and I must handle painful situations if they arise. There are 8 of us: Annick and Vincent Mangin, Gérard Petricciulo, Hélène and Jean-Paul Perez, Emma Mouillac and Mgr Xavier d’Arodes. In this team we have medical, legal and educational skills.

2- On 30th March, at the end of a training day for educators of young people and children, with Mgr Brouwet and the people in charge of the helpline, you presented the proposals put in place in the diocese. What are they ?

We have worked on guidelines so that, in areas where Church members are in contact with children, young or vulnerable people, they have clear benchmarks for acting in appropriate ways. We are currently working on the ways and means by which these guidelines will be be implemented. We have facilitated contact with the right people should an offence occur. There are email addresses and phone numbers so that you can reach us (see above).
Our work, I repeat, is evolving. We want everyone to be aware of our shared responsibility in the education of the young. Any disciplinary measures are there to facilitate and protect trust. But, it is important to remember that the measures taken are the means rather than the end. The goal of our approach is that the Church’s mission be fruitful. Many people in today’s world are waiting for the good news of Jesus. This difficult period lends itself to focusing on what we are all here for. So many people do not know Jesus, so many seek inner peace, stable relationships, meaning to their lives. Having to be vigilant and careful should not hinder our mission, on the contrary, it makes it more free and more constructive.

3- The Sanctuary of Lourdes welcomes a large number of children, young and vulnerable people. Where did you ask for particular vigilance? What will you implement in the Sanctuary? When and how? And how will you at the same time ensure that pilgrimages retain the freedom to carry out their activities?

At Lourdes, in our sanctuaries, there are a vast number of spiritual activities on offer. We hope that pilgrims have a sound spiritual experience in everything they do. We have worked on and prepared a vigilance protocol for sensitive areas: the Baths, the pastoral care of children and young people, confessions, contact with the sick and the vulnerable etc. In these places there are clear rules for leaders and for all those in charge, which are guidelines for appropriate behaviour. We ask that people be respected in their freedom and dignity. These places of particular vigilance are not intended to scare volunteers or managers, or even worse, put them off. On the contrary, our sense of responsibility, given the current situation of the Church, forces us to act in a transparent way. All those who come to visit here must feel happy and safe. We hope that all those who contribute to the life of the sanctuary will act with kindness towards all our pilgrims. In terms of contact with pilgrims, we want to promote correctness and relational intelligence at all times.
It is our duty to promote those conditions in which all pilgrims who come to Lourdes can be happy and safe.

Protection des mineurs et des personnes vulnérables dans le Sanctuaire de Lourdes

Le Sanctuaire de Lourdes est un haut lieu de pèlerinage qui accueille en particulier de nombreux jeunes, des personnes malades ou handicapées, des personnes fragiles. Attentif à leurs besoins et à leur protection, le Sanctuaire Notre-Dame de Lourdes a mis en place un code de bonne conduite et des procédures adaptées. L’évêque de Tarbes et Lourdes, Mgr Brouwet, est à l’origine de ce plan pour la protection des mineurs et des personnes vulnérables.

Protection des mineurs et des personnes vulnérables dans le Sanctuaire de Lourdes

Vous voulez signaler un comportement suspect envers des personnes mineures ou fragiles ?
Vous voulez signaler un problème de mœurs ?

Contacter le Père François BUSTILLO,
délégué diocésain à la protection des mineurs et des personnes vulnérables,
au +33 (0)7 57 41 18 63

Contacter le Père André CABES, Recteur du sanctuaire,
au +33 (0)5 62 42 79 01

3 questions au Père François Bustillo, délégué diocésain
(Tarbes et Lourdes) pour la protection des mineurs et des personnes vulnérables.

1- « Les péchés extrêmement graves de quelques-uns blessent le corps tout entier de l’Eglise », déplorait Mgr Nicolas Brouwet, évêque de Tarbes et Lourdes, dans sa lettre de Carême, le 6 mars 2019. Le 21 octobre 2018, il vous a nommé délégué diocésain pour la protection des mineurs et des personnes vulnérables. Votre formation vous a-t-elle préparé à un tel engagement ? Pouvez-vous préciser votre mission et la composition de la commission qui vous aide ?

Je me prépare depuis que je connais ma mission. En effet, la situation est grave et triste dans l’Eglise mais il faut réagir d’une manière évangélique. Certains ont fait du mal en abîmant des vies innocentes, je crois qu’il faut bâtir une Eglise où l’on revient à la source, le Christ. Notre mission de chrétiens dans le monde est merveilleuse. Ces passages douloureux nous stimulent à puiser notre force dans notre foi. Sans une vie intérieure solide nous ne sommes pas des signes crédibles dans la société.
Ma fonction est nouvelle dans l’Eglise donc, je me sens très ouvert à une évolution grâce à une meilleure connaissance de la situation et grâce à l’aide de l’équipe qui m’entoure. Dans ma mission je dois former les membres de l’Eglise à se former pour prévenir et éviter des comportements inappropriés de telle manière que les jeunes et les enfants soient en sécurité. Je dois écouter, je dois accueillir et je dois gérer des situations douloureuses si elles se présentent. Nous sommes huit personnes : Annick et Vincent Mangin, Gérard Petricciulo, Hélène et Jean-Paul Perez, Emma Mouillac et Mgr Xavier d’Arodes. Dans cette équipe nous avons des compétences médicales, juridiques et pédagogiques.

2- Le 30 mars dernier, à l’issue d’une journée de formation pour les éducateurs de jeunes et d’enfants, avec Mgr Brouwet et les responsables de la cellule d’écoute, vous avez présenté les propositions mises en place dans le diocèse. Quelles sont-elles ?

Nous avons travaillé des chartes pour que dans les domaines où les membres de l’Eglise sont au contact des enfants, des jeunes et des personnes vulnérables ils puissent avoir des points de repère clairs pour agir d’une manière ajustée avec eux. Nous travaillons en ce moment sur les modalités pour que ces chartes soient appliquées. Nous avons facilité le contact avec les personnes si une infraction se produit. Il y a une adresse mail et des contacts téléphoniques pour nous rejoindre (voir plus haut).
Notre travail, je le répète, est en évolution. Nous souhaitons une prise de conscience de la part de tous de la responsabilité commune dans l’éducation des plus petits. Si nous avons des mesures disciplinaires c’est pour faciliter et protéger la confiance. Mais, il est fondamental de ne pas oublier que les mesures prises ce sont des moyens mais pas la finalité. Le but de notre démarche est que la mission de l’Eglise soit féconde. Enormément de nos contemporains attendent la Bonne Nouvelle de Jésus. Cette période difficile se prête à aller à l’essentiel. Tant de personnes ne connaissent pas Jésus, cherchent une paix intérieure, une stabilité relationnelle, un sens à leur vie. Les points de vigilance ne paralysent pas la mission au contraire, ils la rendent plus libre et plus constructive.

3- Le Sanctuaire de Lourdes accueille un grand nombre d’enfants, de jeunes et de personnes vulnérables. Sur quels points avez-vous demandé que soit portée une vigilance plus particulièrement ? Qu’allez-vous mettre en œuvre au sein du Sanctuaire ? Quand et selon quelles modalités ? Et comment préserver dans le même temps la liberté de la démarche du pèlerinage ?

A Lourdes, dans nos sanctuaires, il y a une grande quantité de propositions spirituelles. Nous souhaitons que dans tous les domaines les pèlerins puissent vivre une expérience spirituelle solide. Nous avons travaillé et préparé un protocole de vigilance dans des lieux sensibles : les piscines, la pastorale des enfants et des jeunes, les confessions, le contact avec les malades et les personnes vulnérables… Dans ces lieux il y a des règles claires pour les animateurs et pour tous ceux qui sont en responsabilité, il s’agit des chartes de bonne conduite. Nous demandons que les personnes soient respectées dans leur liberté et leur dignité. Les points de vigilance ne cherchent pas à faire peur aux bénévoles ou aux responsables, ou pire, à les décourager. Au contraire, notre sens de la responsabilité, compte tenu de la situation actuelle de l’Eglise, nous pousse à agir d’une manière transparente. Il faut que tous ceux qui nous visitent soient heureux et en sécurité. Nous souhaitons que tous les acteurs du sanctuaire puissent agir avec bonté envers tous les pèlerins. Dans le contact avec les pèlerins nous voulons promouvoir la justesse et l’intelligence relationnelle.
Notre devoir est de favoriser les bonnes conditions pour que les pèlerins soient heureux à Lourdes.